Whinge

This post is not related to any specific in-world roleplay – merely a bit of a whinge about LL.  Most folks will have been caught out by the recent spate of server failures, I have been locked out several times in the last fortnight, sometimes for an entire evening.

To say that it puts a crimp in one’s roleplay would be an understatement!  My in-world self was on one occasion unceremoniously booted off into another sim, missing most of my prim attachements and any related HUDs with in-world tp disabled.  Now the message related to that issue did not appear on the Grid Staus Report for over 30 minutes, so how many other poor sods were either relocated or locked out in that time God knows.  I’m sure many, like me were Premium Accounts, we pay to use SL!  More timely warnings are needed.  More stability in the Grid is urgently required if anyone who uses SL casually ( as I did, though I will admit to being hooked now) is to seriously consider SL for commerce.

The recent spate of failures appear to be related to overladen servers crashing, peak online load is nearly at 70K simultaneous users, so more capacity must be provided or failures will only get worse.  This occurs at the time when Western Europe is online and the E. Coast US users join us.

Please LL, do yourselves a favour – invest in hardware upgrades and improved capacity, not flashy new software peripheries which will not work very well on an unstable grid!

My in-world adventures will continue, but I would be grateful for some stability to ease my peace of mind!

I am not going to quit SL for a while, but I will not take it seriously until some significant improvements are made to our in-world experience!

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on September 3, 2008.

One Response to “Whinge”

  1. ‘I am not going to quit SL for a while, but I will not take it seriously until some significant improvements are made to our in-world experience!’
    Hmmm I see.

Leave a Reply

 
