To Blog or Not to Blog??

That is indeed the question!

Well, I have no intention of not continuing to blog.  This is simply my account of SL as I see it…from the inside as a resident.

Recently I had the temerity to post in a forum thread that I thought that our profile pictures (pic-tures, OK?) were being interfered with by SL.  Another resident implied that I was paranoid.  Of course I am!  Just because I am paranoid does not mean that they are not out to get me!

Irrespective of that flippancy, I do fervently believe that LL are doing their best to turn SL into a business tool and that that is the principal reason for the sanitisation of the Grid.  I have seen nothing to disabuse me of that notion.

Those of us that use SL as a means to associate and communicate with others at a social level will be pushed out or to one side as the corporate steamroller moves in.

What worries me is that LL will “throw the baby out with the bathwater” if they persist in attempting to make SL a business tool.  There are many reasons why most businesses would not dream of taking SL seriously, and security of information communicated via SL is, perhaps, the most important.

Wake up LL!  Business will not use SL in anything like its present form, and you need your socialsers for a lot longer yet.  I am annoyed that the opinions of so many residents (look at the number of posts on the thread concerning “Adult Content”) are being so blatantly ignored.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on April 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
