So it Goes….on and on

Well! I haven’t had time to blog , because I’ve been busy in SL fora, trying to find out just how badly I’ll be affected by LL’s changes.

The more I read, the more I’m convinced that LL’s actions are driven not by any wish to court the Education/Commerce faction, though I’m sure they want to increase their prescence in both those fields. No, it’s a knee-jerk reaction to this upcoming or possible Congressional Enquiry. Time and time again it is seen that LL just cannot be honest with its customers, the residents of Second Life. I do not know why. It is very bad for business when you hide your motivations behind smoke and mirrors, even from some of your own employees!

I now spend a significant time every day trawling through the Blog and the fora (official and unofficial) to find out the latest scuttlebutt. My SL employer needs to be kept informed, and has not the time to sift through the acres of text. Several residents, Argent Stonecutter, Couldbe Yue, DanielRavennest Noe and Innula Zenkova have all posed reasonable questions to LL. None, to my knowledge have received anything like a satifactory reply. We appear to be talking in a vacuum, and I’m beginning to think that LL, seemingly unconcerned that these people are probably at least as net-savvy and skilled as themselves, intends that this is the case. We are being given a place (or now, places) to vent our ire without LL being at all interested in our views.

This is sad, because if LL was straight with us, we would co-operate fully to make SL a safer, saner place for all potential users. No-one in their right mind wishes to have individuals harmed by the experience of SL, be they minors or vulnerable adults, but there are many to whom the Internet and its media form the last bastion of true freedom, apart from the insides of our own heads.

I am left shaking my head in sadness, because although I do not know what the answer is, I do know that LL’s current actions are wrong-headed, arrogant and ultimately suicidal. LL will flush their baby out with the bathwater, and I can hear the gurgling already.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on June 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
