Ruffled Feathers

As you, if you are one of the brave souls who ever stumble into this blog, may know, I now run the excellent and versatile Phoenix Viewer, which took over from Boy Lane’s superb Rainbow Cool Viewer when the 1.22 codebase became virtually defunct (OK via Emerald …oops and Emergence).

I am trying to find out if it is my system or the viewer that causes my PC to write to the hard-drive excessively during sessions. I have been investigating this on the Phoenix JIRA (Phoenix JIRA SUP-2793) with the help of Whirly Fizzle. My system is an Intel Pentium 4 (3.2GHz) single core CPU running Windoze XP SP3, via an nVidia GT9400 GPU. It is an activity I’ve never noticed before, I started seeing it on Phoenix 818, and it continued on 908. Phoenix .977 seems somewhat better, and I wonder if it is the handling of virtual memory or texture-memory that is at its root. I found that disabling ‘HTTP get textures’ made absolutely no difference, other than making texture-loading after TP an absolute nightmare!
I’d value any comments/suggestions that might be made (polite ones anyway), that might help us track down this aberrant behaviour, whether it be my PC or something odd in Phoenix (OpenJPEG?).
Thanks.

Addendum: Since I’ve never had even a Dual-core PC, I have no idea whether having multiple cores would help the system, ie if my updates insist on downloading during a session it may make matters worse…once Intel get their act together on Sandy Bridge, I hope to have a new PC up and running, but for now, I remain with this trusty workhorse.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on March 18, 2011.

One Response to “Ruffled Feathers”

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through
    Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
