What’s in a name?

Over the last few days a long thread has grown in the General Discussion forum, following on from Rodvik’s “Round table” post in the “My Avatar” forum. Now while it is custom and practice (or so it seems) in English politics and journalism to try to “bury” bad news, it rather looked as though Rodvik, rather than post the bad news about Secondlife Second names in a high-visiblity Blog post (which it ought to have been), Rod sought to bury it in a perfectly valid but far less “visible” forum.
The resultant thread, led by Deltango Vale – http://community.secondlife.com/t5/General-Discussion-Forum/Last-Names-and-Linden-Lab/td-p/1414783 – deals with most concerned folk’s views on the upshot.

That upshot is that despite some suggestions that second names would be returning to Secondlife, ending the “XXXX Resident” or just “XXXX” farago, Linden Lab will now NOT be bringing back such second names. My view on that subject was in my last post and I won’t labour the point. Frankly the reaction is not favourable toward Linden Lab’s policy makers, and I show no surprise whatsoever.

There is no point in me making further comment, since everything I would say is contained in that thread. I recommend you paste the address into your browser and look (I have mentioned before that hyperlinks seem to screw up this blog’s format for some reason so I apologise for not making one, again).

All it says to me is that Linden Lab is run by a bunch of Donkeys, and my reaction is “Quel Surprise!” Lindens don’t lie deliberately, they simply have little or no choice but to go along with policies dreamed up by folk who have no regard for and no knowledge of Secondlife and, quite possibly, have lttle or no common sense or business acumen.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on March 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
