How Dare You…..?

Having read the outraged posts of one or two folk about Jessical Lyon’s interview with Oz Linden, I really wasn’t expecting much. That Oz actually deigned to talk to Jessica was in my view, a coup, and possibly since Jessica has the nerve to remain polite when faced with furious obfuscation, it is no surprise that other TPV developers, not known for their long tempers or tact, were not present.

In fact the interview was good, quite factual, and at least to my view, did a lot to calm my fears about the future of SL in general and TPVs in particular. I actually thought that for a corporate lackey, Oz gave a pretty good account of himself, which surprised me after the bluster of his last broadcast discussion.

I could not get on the stream as the interview was broadcast, due to the huge demand for access – way beyond Treet’s server capacity. I have listened to it in its entirety subsequently and to be fair to Linden Lab (horrors!) I now feel I understand their position a little better. I don’t agree with it, but I understand it a little better!

What actually bothers me more is the rabid “anti-Emerald” attitude still held by many people, and its use as an excuse to invalidate anything done or said by the Phoenix/Firestorm team in particular and in some cases, TPVs in general. Firestorm never had the “true-online status” script incorporated into its bridge, so never offended against LL in that regard, but you would be hard-pressed to get some folk to actually believe it.

When the dust of this issue begins to settle, I think we will see a closer co-operation between elements of Linden Lab and the TPV community. Oz is not stupid, he just works for a company that is corporately stupid; it is not the same thing.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on March 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
