Now you see it…Now you don’t

Recently and I think since the fix to SVC-8124/8155 was rolled out, it has not always been possible to see into a neighbouring sim, even when sim privacy is turned off. There have been sporadic reports of this phenomenon over the past few weeks, and recently in the Server Blog a thread on this topic appeared.

I experienced the bug while sailing on the Blake Sea when a sim that had, prior to entering it, appeared to be all water both in my view and on the map. As I crossed into the sim at some 15kt, I suddenly found an island some 25m dead ahead and other land as well! Intrigued, once I had picked up the crockery from the galley floor, I backed up to the previous sim and miraculously the island vanished, despite being well within my draw distance! I crossed back again and there it was. The sim’s name escapes me but I recall it was on the Magnum RC channel. That code was promoted to Main Server the following week and sure enough, reports of invisible or inaccessible sims started to multiply, and one resident enquired, via a ticket, of LL as to what was going on. The reply (a surprise in itself these days) said that LL were aware of a sim caching issue that was responsible for such occurrences, and that it “was being investigated”. We are still waiting for a definitive fix for this bug. I have a feeling that it might be a long wait.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on November 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
