New Viewer 2014

OK last week saw the release of the latest evolution of Firestorm…4.6.1, in a range of forms both 32-bit and 64-bit for SL and Open Sim and various operating systems. I plumped for the Windoze 64-bit version, which does not support the latest Havok and so is OK for both SL and Open Sim grids.

So far, apart from a couple of minor bugs apparently associated with Firestorm 4.5.1 (not sure if they are specific to the 64-bit alpha version or not) which have no day-to-day significance, the beast runs fine and starts up a LOT faster than the 32-bit versions on my OS (Windoze 7 64-bit Pro). It is full of neat little bits of code that the Linden Default viewer does not have, and of course, it can use and see Fitted Mesh, in accordance with current SL code.

From my first couple of days’ use, it seems a tad lighter on the sim than 4.4.2 and a wee bit faster. For my Ponyplay it is fine, and for would-be SL photographers it is great.

As an aside, I have apparently acquired my first SL stalker as a pony – even by SL standards I find such folk odd and frankly a little creepy! To be fair this particular av has not yet grown out of the “playing with dolls” stage of SL…most of us have been there at some stage unless we were accomplished role-players prior to joining SL.

We shall see how this viewer handles my SL, I was invited to join the FPR Ponyball team today, now THAT is to me an honour, though the av that invited me did not understand my insistence on following the courtesies and protocol of D/s before agreeing. Sundays just might get busier!

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on March 15, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
