What is it that makes me do this?

Currently in SL, my pony-self is leashed and blindfolded in her stall, having annoyed Domina by asking repeatedly about a restriction she had set. I have to admit to this state causing me no little excitement, despite its restrictions. Oh, who am I kidding? It is precisely because of them that I find it exciting! (NB this was “at the time of posting” the isolation is now over).

Since my earliest days in SL I have wanted restriction at times, to be “out-of-control” or whatever terminology you may choose. The Ponyplay that I have been involved with for the last 18 months is only one aspect of my roleplay in SL. Being “ponied” is essentially an aspect of bondage…the harness, hooves and bit are all adaptations of basic BDSM tools, and in my case the complete pony avatar, with no human features (for the head at least) is an extra level of restriction or enclosure.
That is not to say that Ponyplay is simply D/s by another name – it may be entered into in many other ways that have little to do with BDSM or D/s, although a pony, like the horse in RL is largely the submissive partner in the relationship with the trainer.
For my part, the level of isolation routinely is actually quite low insofar as I can take part in normal (for a given value of “normal”) ponysport, as I do, yet it allows my Domina or owner to exercise whatever control she wishes over my activities.

Way back at the start of my SL I mentioned the tenets of D/s or BDSM, and referred to Miss Inara Pey’s texts on the subject. One cornerstone is “consensual non-consent”…in other words you give up control to another willingly and in full knowledge of the implications. That I did some 6 and a half years ago and I have never regretted it. Does that reflect some basic inadequacy in my character? I do not think so and I consider myself to be fairly well-balanced and sane in my life outside of SL. It just “floats my boat” as they say. I do not recommend it to others, nor do I discourage it. It is just something to be entered into with care and forethought and frankly it cannot be made to work without love and respect – if those are NOT present it can rapidly degenerate into abuse and importantly, not simply of the submissive partner – “topping from the bottom” is not uncommon and can be just as destructive.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on November 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
