A Still, Small Voice

Back in 2008, when I first joined SL, I pondered on the use of voice communication, either through SL’s own Vivox franchise or via Skype. At the time my connection was at best tenuous, being a copper-wire line and about as far from the exchange as possible, and any other use of the line was likely to drop me out of SL altogether. As a result, along with the obvious issues that I would have (my voice hardly matching my avatar), I simply got used to not using voice, and only hearing it when absolutely necessary.
When I moved to my present location with its far better connection via optical fibre cable, I never thought to establish either Skype or voice in SL…it simply had become irrelevant to my SL.

Now I am part of a group that uses Skype to talk one with another while in SL and it must be great…but it is not something I can take part in, so I am in a bit of a quandary. Do I gracefully exit the group or do as the Mistress and leader of the group suggests and ask them to change their ways and use local chat typing? It seems so inequable to expect those already comfortable with voice chat to change simply because I won’t (can’t) join in. Put simply I am between a rock and a hard place on this matter.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on January 18, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
