Update time again

Firestorm released 4.7.5.47975 on Tuesday and I’ve been using it for two days now and so far it seems fine. The release is not a huge change, just an update to current LL viewer code and a few new features, so no-one need panic….yet.

There is no update to RLVa again and while that is not good news, I have found out that there is a very good reason for this, and it has nothing to do with the Firestorm code. I am not going to elaborate, it’s not my place but as I say, there is a good reason for it.

Inara Pey has a good review of its features in her “Living in the Modem World” blog and there are details on the Firestorm blog as well so there’s no point in me elaborating. Suffice to say that the result is a smooth, seemingly stable viewer with all the current SL BUGs. That they are not fixed is to LL’s demerit and we must hope that they solve them as soon as possible. Some Mesh-rendering improvements have been made so there are several good reasons to update.

If anyone MUST have the latest RLV code, there are other viewers that can provide it, Ukando being but one. Singularity is by no means up to date either and is definitely nowhere near as stable as Firestorm, so it is a user choice. Speaking from my own experience, I found Singularity’s V1 type UI unpleasant after the FS one, and of course there are several features that I miss from FS but that is just my preference.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on November 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
