Ouch!

It seems that many, if not all European ISPs were hit by some unknown issue tonight resulting in hundreds of folk being rudely tossed out of SL for anything up to thirty minutes at about 11pm GMT. I have not had a coherent explanation for the event, other than it was almost certainly nothing to do with Linden Lab.

Just what abruptly caused widespread disconnects of SL users is not (so far as I know) known but it scrambled my viewer’s settings and it took me a good half hour to restore all my settings correctly. Not nice at all.

ETA Monday 23/11/15: I am told that there was a major Asset-Server issue around the time of the disconnection on Friday, but if that were so, I’d’ve expected some comment either from LL on the GSP or from users in the forum. Since neither occurred I am unconvinced that an Asset-Server hiccup could cause the disconnection of over 5000 users who just happened to be in Europe.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on November 20, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
