Update on FS 5.0.1

It has now been 4 days of quite heavy use of the new viewer and I have to say my first impressions were inaccurate. This is not a GOOD viewer, it is a GREAT one! There are numerous Bugfixes which almost go unnoticed until you realise that things are actually working the way they should not simply “more or less” as they had been.

The one that leapt out at me today was the fix for the odd mispositioning of attachments in mouselook (I spend a LOT of time in ML) plus the fact that my viewer is nearly as fast with ALM (shadows and light reflections) on as it used to be with ALM off and shorter draw distances.

I’m not going to say that the viewer is perfect, it surely isn’t, but it is damn close, and that’s good enough for me. I personally have no use for Bento but it is a relief to know that Bento attachments will now render correctly for me.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on December 19, 2016.

2 Responses to “Update on FS 5.0.1”

  1. 🙂 I still prefer the last kokua over firestorm, cause i do like the LL interface and firestorm is real a pain to make it look as close as it. (Over 2 hours fiddling with debug settings to get ride of most of the non needed things they try to add), but it is running pretty well for sailing and building. So yes a good release for sure.

  2. I have to admit that, unlike you, I actually do like the Firestorm UI, or at least the one I use. I recall thinking that I would hate migrating from Phoenix, which was essentially the V1 UI, to the new Firestorm UI. I was greatly relieved when the flexible UI came along and I’ve never looked back.

    Now, I dislike the “default” Linden viewer UI, and so far none of the others that I have seen appeal. That’s just me and everyone has their own preferences. I don’t like hunting in Debug settings and so the option to put some on quickprefs is, to me, a godsend.

    So, essentially we find, by trial and error, which combination of features suits us, and that is how it should be!

Leave a Reply

 
