Cache Confusion

I have been doing some testing recently which has required me to briefly use both the “default” SL viewer and Marine Kelley’s RLV. I have discovered something which may either be me committing some operation error or a really quite irritating glitch in their operation.
If I use the default location for the viewer cache on SLV (my name for the default viewer) and run a session I have no issues. If I then load up and run the RLV I notice that it attempts to use the same cache location as the default viewer. Since the SLV uses the KDU graphic decoder and RLV uses the open-source J2C OpenJPG decoder this is not a good thing and leads to texture corruption (thanks to Whirly Fizzle for pointing this out to me). If I log in to RLV and change the cache location to the specific location I have set up for it, the next time I run the SLV it uses the RLV cache! Changing the cache location from the preferences on the start up page does not “take” so I have to log in to change this file destination, which is not a good thing.

Now maybe I am doing something wrong but for the Secondlife of me I do not know what! Can anyone out there offer an explanation for this? Oh and it HAS to be these two viewers for the purposes of my tests.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on May 15, 2017.

4 Responses to “Cache Confusion”

  1. […] via Cache Confusion — Ayesha’s Ramblings […]

  2. I use Kokua and SL viewer ad now i can see why sometimes i have corrupted textures. The solution till now was to delete the cache altogether and start a brand new one (as i really use Sl viewer only 1pct of the time)

    • I find it astonishing that Marine was not aware of this cache issue when using the RLV and any other TPV that uses her decoder choice alongside the default viewer. I do wonder how widely known this issue is?

  3. I fear not so much. Perhaps Henry from Vf cool viewer can give some light on this issue.

Leave a Reply

 
