RLV 2.9.21.3 A Marked Improvement

After the unwelcome discovery that the previously thought innocuous cache-sharing between the default Linden SLV and RLV could actually cause significant texture-corruption due to the different graphics decoders that the two viewers use, I am glad to tell you all that the latest RLV has none of those foibles. Marine was kind enough to give me a “heads up” on this yesterday.
At first start-up after installation the settings file will direct the viewer to use the last cache location that SLV used, so before the first log in it is important to go to preferences on the viewer start-up screen and either set the default location or as I do, set your own custom location.

Once that is done and you restart the viewer all proceeds as normal, and while I confess to not liking the Linden viewer UI, it works well. I did notice that in graphics>advanced settings that GPU texture memory can be set, but if the maximum of 2048MB is set with my 6GB NVidia GTX980Ti I got texture thrashing, something which does NOT happen with Firestorm on the same setting.
So all in all the newest RLV is a good piece of code, but I’ll say it again – it ain’t as good as FS! Note: that is a purely PERSONAL opinion and should be considered as such.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on May 28, 2017.

One Response to “RLV 2.9.21.3 A Marked Improvement”

  1. Hi there! I just wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for your great info
    you have right here on this post. I’ll be returning
    to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

 
