A Welcome Return

Now I appreciate that many people may know this already, but for those who don’t, a place that holds a special memory for me has returned to SL.
Created by Dane Zander in 2005 and closed in 2011, The Lost Gardens of Apollo was one of those sims that I have missed since its closure. I wrote an article on it way back in 2012, and I bemoaned then that Linden Lab had “let go” one of the iconic locations in SL. It seems they didn’t. Well, not really. The sim was closed but either LL have a means of retaining a sim-state intact for years, or the simulator was closed but not deleted…I don’t know just what happened, but late last year apparently LL had a changer of heart and The Gardens were returned to SL.
The sim is now regarded by LL as “Historic” – I don’t know about you but I already knew that!
I only found out purely by chance while chatting to a returned SLer who started out in SL in 2006 and who had stumbled upon the sim while checking out his old landmarks! The place is now preserved and anyone going there will probably, if they have not seen it before, think of it as rather primitive. Well in many ways it is…in the same way as another “Historic” sim, Svarga, but the concept and layout have, in my opinion, never been bettered in SL since, despite all the advances. If the place was remodelled in mesh it “might” look better but I doubt it.
Granted it is likely to be more a place where long-time SLers like me go to remember than a “Go To” attraction but it still has a charm and quiet tranquillity that few places either in SL or RL possess.
Even the music stream exudes a somewhat old-fashioned atmosphere with its meditational music. It is a place to go when one wishes to clear one’s mind of chatter and get centred again.

Highly recommended.

~ by Ayesha Askham-Ezvalt on July 17, 2017.

One Response to “A Welcome Return”

  1. […] via A Welcome Return — Ayesha’s Ramblings […]

Leave a Reply

 
